Veterans Crisis Line:Dial 988, then press 1Text 838255

South Dakota veteran education benefits

Our rating:Rated 4 out of 5 for veteran education benefits

Stars rate how much each state offers veterans themselves for college, training and exam fees (family-only programs don't count): 5 = free public-college tuition for most resident veterans, no disability rating needed; 3 = partial grants or narrower eligibility; 1 = little or nothing beyond federal benefits. How we rate

Up to 4 years of free tuition for wartime veterans once federal benefits are gone; no rating needed.

Checked Oct 7, 2026. State benefits change often. Confirm the details with the state agency before you apply.

Verify on the official page means we could not fully confirm that detail on the agency's own page.

For veterans

Free Tuition for Veterans (SDCL 13-55-2 to 13-55-5)

What it covers
Undergraduate tuition (not stated to include fees) at state universities and technical colleges. One month free per month of qualifying service; minimum 1, maximum 4 academic years.
Who qualifies and limits
Discharged under honorable conditions, current SD resident qualifying for in-state tuition, and meets the 'veteran' definition in SDCL 33A-2-1/2 (wartime/conflict service). Only for those not eligible for GI Bill or other federal education payments (13-55-4). 'Qualifying service' counts only active-duty time within the conflict period.

Official page: vetaffairs.sd.gov

For spouses and children

Free Tuition for Children of Veterans Who Die During Service (SDCL 13-55-6 to -9)

What it covers
Free tuition at state-supported schools
Who qualifies and limits
Under 25, SD resident; parent KIA or died on active duty and lived in SD 6 months before entry

Official page: vetaffairs.sd.gov

Free Tuition for Dependents of POWs/MIAs (SDCL 13-55-9.2 to -9.6)

What it covers
Tuition and mandatory fees
Who qualifies and limits
Only if not eligible for equal or greater federal benefits

Official page: vetaffairs.sd.gov

If you left the service 15 to 20 years ago

Strong fit. The program is only for veterans who no longer have federal education benefits. A 2006 separatee's MGIB (10-yr) and pre-2013 Post-9/11 (15-yr) entitlement have expired, so they likely qualify (expiry vs. exhaustion not stated explicitly). Must be a current SD resident.

Who to contact

State veterans agency
SD Department of Veterans Affairs
State Approving Agency (approves schools and programs for the GI Bill)
SD Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans' Education (SAA)

Sources we checked

Federal benefits such as the GI Bill and VR&E are separate. See the FAQ and the GI Bill programs.

All statesOpen the program finder