SMART Heroes sheet-metal pre-apprenticeship
SMART / International Training Institute
At a glance
- Cost: Free training
- Format: In-person
- Who qualifies: Vets · Service members
Full details
- Cost
- SMART Heroes sheet-metal training is free. Confirm travel, lodging and other personal expenses.
- Who qualifies
- Active-duty service members leaving the military within a year, and recent veterans. Offered at Joint Base Lewis-McChord (DuPont, WA) and Fort Carson (Colorado Springs, CO). Active-duty participation requires SkillBridge/command approval.
- Format
- In person
Check current terms: Individual eligibility, seats and coverage must be confirmed with the provider.
- Credential
- Apprenticeship pathwaySMART Heroes pre-apprenticeship training equivalent to first-year apprenticeship education (224 hours), with eligibility for second-year placement. Curriculum explicitly includes OSHA 30 safety training; its card/issuer and exact additional awards are not specified.
Before you decide
- What is free
- SMART Heroes explicitly provides training free of charge; travel/housing not established.
- Who qualifies
- Active-duty service members leaving the military within a year, and recent veterans. Offered at Joint Base Lewis-McChord (DuPont, WA) and Fort Carson (Colorado Springs, CO). Active-duty participation requires SkillBridge/command approval.
- What you get
- SMART Heroes offers seven weeks of free, hands-on sheet-metal training in Washington and Colorado for transitioning service members and eligible veterans. Graduates can receive first-year apprenticeship credit and move toward second-year placement in a SMART apprenticeship, with local admission rules and availability applying.
- Credential and key limits
- SMART Heroes pre-apprenticeship training equivalent to first-year apprenticeship education (224 hours), with eligibility for second-year placement. Curriculum explicitly includes OSHA 30 safety training; its card/issuer and exact additional awards are not specified.
- Format
- In person
- Duration
- Seven weeks, 224 hours, full-time.
- Location
- DuPont, Washington, or Colorado Springs, Colorado.
- Deadline
- Status evidence: Application form active; no verified next cohort date or seat count. Application window: Program currently advertised with live application form. Application deadline: Not confirmed Availability limits: Public information or an application link does not guarantee a seat, funding, acceptance or a job.
- Stipend / housing / travel
- No separate course stipend or veteran training wage verified. Wages and benefits belong to the later employment/apprenticeship phase. Travel, lodging, meals and personal-tool coverage are not established.
- Notes
- Washington location page still says OSHA 10 and possible AWS welding certification. Confirm the current OSHA card or AWS certification with the selected location.
- Details checked
- 2026-10-09
Application and credential details
- How to apply
- Review the official program page, confirm eligibility, costs and current availability, then follow its registration or application instructions.
- Documents to prepare
- Confirm the current document requirements with the provider.
- Additional requirements and limits
- Washington page lists entrance requirements, aptitude test and interview; Colorado lists pre-screen and interview. Ask the selected location to confirm current prerequisites.
- Application link
- Open official application page
- Credential or outcome
- SMART Heroes pre-apprenticeship training equivalent to first-year apprenticeship education (224 hours), with eligibility for second-year placement. Curriculum explicitly includes OSHA 30 safety training; its card/issuer and exact additional awards are not specified.
- Application details checked
- 2026-10-09
- Application review status
- Checked against the official page. Details can change.
- Sources for these details
- https://www.smart-heroes.org/apply-now/ — checked 2026-10-09
- https://www.smart-heroes.org/ — checked 2026-10-09
- https://www.smart-heroes.org/program-curriculum/ — checked 2026-10-09
- Availability checked
- 2026-10-09
- Status evidence
- Application form active; no verified next cohort date or seat count.
- Application window
- Program currently advertised with live application form.
- Availability limits
- Public information or an application link does not guarantee a seat, funding, acceptance or a job.
- Timing sources
Credential and exam evidence — October 11
SMART Heroes pre-apprenticeship training equivalent to first-year apprenticeship education (224 hours), with eligibility for second-year placement. Curriculum explicitly includes OSHA 30 safety training; its card/issuer and exact additional awards are not specified.
Sources
- https://www.smart-heroes.org/program-curriculum/ — checked 2026-10-11
- https://www.smart-heroes.org/ — checked 2026-10-11